MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY

October 15, 2014

The Academic Council met at 3:35pm on Wednesday, October 15, 2014 in Derryberry Hall Room 200 with Dr. Steve Isbell, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Bobby Hodum
Prof. Sue Piras
Dr. Liz Mullens
Dr. Brian O'Connor
Dr. Ken Wiant
Dr. David Larimore
Dr. Doug Bates
Dr. Jim Raymondo
Dr. Lee Ann Shipley
Dr. Janet Isbell

Dr. Jordana Navarro Dr. Corinne Darvennes

Dr. Elizabeth Propes Dr. Linda Null

Dr. Steve Isbell Mr. William Gabelman
Dr. Doug Talbert Mr. Daniel Williamson
Prof. Barbara Jared Ms. Kaitlin Townsend

Others present were Dr. Joe Biernacki, Dr. Michael Birdwell, Dr. Allan Mills, Dr. Ferdinand DiFurio, Dr. Troy Smith, Dr. Rita Barnes, Dr. Steve Sharp, Prof. Susan Clark, Ms. Kelly Ramey,

Ms. Amber Spears, and Ms. Denise Burgess. Dr. Vahid Motevalli represented Dr.

Loutzenheiser, Dr. Julie Baker represented Dr. Shank, and Dr. Joe Roberts represented Dr. Geist.

The following members were absent:

Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser
Dr. Michael Phillips
Dr. Paul Semmes
Dr. Charles Carnal
Dr. Jennifer Shank
Dr. Tammy Boles
Dr. Melissa Geist
Dr. Daniel Badoe
Dr. Bruce Greene
Dr. Wali Kharif
Dr. Ismet Anitsal
Mr. Daniel Tribble

Dr. Martha Howard

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved the agenda

Approved the minutes of the April 2, 2014 meeting

Approved termination of CSIT Concentration in Computer Science

Approved amendment to Honors Program Charter

Discussed name change for the Honors Program

Discussed Rural Policy Institute

Approved change to admissions requirements for MS in Engineering

Deferred academic freedom and responsibility policy to a subcommittee

Approved awarding posthumous degrees policy

Approved emeriti faculty policy

Approved endowed chair holder appointment policy

PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Darvennes MOVED approval of the agenda and Mr. Gabelman SECONDED. The agenda was APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the Minutes of the April 2, 2014 Meeting

Dr. Talbert MOVED approval of the minutes and Dr. Hodum SECONDED. The minutes were APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of Proposal to Terminate CSIT Concentration in Computer Science

Dr. Talbert explained that the CSIT concentration was created when the department was in the College of Arts and Sciences. The department is now in the College of Engineering and needs to focus on the strategic goals of that college. With the addition of the new Information Assurance and Cybersecurity concentration in Fall 2014, the program incorporates elements of CSIT and is well aligned with the college goals. The concentration will be phased out by Fall 2018. Dr. Talbert MOVED approval and Dr. Darvennes SECONDED. The proposal was APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of Amendment to Honors Program Charter

Dr. Barnes explained that the amendment expands Honors research options and other upperdivision Honors options in the major. This gives the students more flexibility in selecting two Honors Colloquia or one Honors Colloquium. Dr. Talbert MOVED approval and Mr. Gabelman SECONDED. The proposal was APPROVED unanimously.

Name Change for the Honors Program

Dr. Stephens explained the name change is to expand the Honors Program to an Honors College. A task force charged by the Provost to examine the establishment of an Honors College and lead by Dr. Rita Barnes has reviewed the possibility of an Honors College for TTU and have visited other universities with honors colleges. Dr. Barnes presented more information and the comparison of an Honors Program versus an Honors College. After a lengthy discussion with many questions and concerns, the Academic Council agreed in principal to the establishment of an Honors College. The Honors College taskforce was charged to provide the Academic Council, at a future meeting, a statement of our commitment to move to an Honors College. This statement will include the proposed actions that must be taken and a brief timeline for those actions in order to get the current Honors Program to the point at which we are ready to establish the Honors College.

Proposal for a Rural Policy Institute

Dr. Ghorashi explained the President has a desire to further enhance our regional interactions and better serve the middle Tennessee communities. The Provost proposed the establishment of a rural policy institute and discussed it during the summer with a group of faculty recommended by the Deans and again during the Deans' retreat. The Rural Policy Institute would generate and disseminate objective knowledge through scholarly research on the challenges and opportunities that exists in rural communities in Tennessee and the nation. After a lengthy discussion on the purpose and logistics of the institute, it was decided that a task force would be formed with representatives from each of the colleges to further review this item. Those agreeing to serve on the task force are Dr. Janet Isbell, Dr. Lee Ann Shipley, Prof. Barbara Jared, Dr. Doug Talbert,

Dr. Jordanna Navaro, Dr. Troy Smith, Dr. Vahid Motevalli, Ms. Amber Spears, Ms. Kelly Ramey, and Dr. Ferdinand DiFurio.

Approval of Change to Admissions Requirements for MS in Engineering

Dr. Motevalli spoke in the absence of Dr. Loutzenheiser and explained that changes to the admissions requirements in the MS in Engineering were approved by TBR in January 2014. However, it was not the intent of the college to change the GPA to 3.25, but to remain at 3.0. Dr. Talbert MOVED approval and Dr. Hodum SECONDED. The request to change the GPA back to 3.0 was APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of Policies

- a. Academic Freedom and Responsibility Dr. Huo explained that SACS requires that policies be published on TTU's website. This is a TBR and TTU policy and has been revised. Dr. Larimore MOVED approval and Dr. Talbert SECONDED. After a lengthy discussion and suggested changes, the motion was amended to refer this policy to a subcommittee for further review. The amended motion was APPROVED unanimously.
- b. Awarding Posthumous Degrees Dr. Huo stated this is a new policy. Dr. Darvennes MOVED approval and Dr. Hodum SECONDED. The policy was APPROVED unanimously.
- c. Emeriti Faculty Dr. Huo stated this is a current TTU policy that has been revised. Dr. Darvennes MOVED approval and Dr. Propes SECONDED. The policy was APPROVED unanimously.
- d. Endowed Chair Holder Appointment Dr. Huo stated this is a new policy and there is no TBR governing policy for this. UTK and UBA were used as examples. Dr. Darvennes MOVED approval and Dr. Talbert SECONDED. The policy was APPROVED unanimously.

Such Other Matters

Dr. Propes requested that the Course Syllabus information be updated in the Faculty Handbook. The Provost Office will make the revisions as approved by the Academic Council and University Assembly in April 2014.

The meeting adjourned at 5:15pm

APPROVED November 12, 2014

Carol Holley, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes:

Proposal to Terminate CSIT Concentration in Computer Science

Amendment to Honors Program Charter

Name Change form for Honors Program

Rural Policy Institute Proposal

Memo for change to admissions requirements for MS in Engineering

Academic Freedom and Responsibility Policy

Awarding Posthumous Degrees Policy

Emeriti Faculty Policy

Endowed Chair Holder Appointment Policy