# MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY NOVEMBER 7, 2012

The Academic Council met at 3:35pm on Wednesday, November 7, 2012 in the Deans' Conference Room of Derryberry Hall with Linda Null, Chairperson presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. James Jordan-Wagner
Dr. Doug Bates
Dr. Doug Talbert
Dr. Matt Smith
Dr. Linda Null
Prof. Barbara Jared
Dr. Wali Kharif

Dr. Susan Laningham
Dr. Corinne Darvennes
Dr. Steve Isbell
Mr. Robert Griffin

Dr. Mary Pashley

Other persons present were Dr. Brenda Wilson, Mr. Ward Doubet, and Ms. Beth Rogers. Ms. Jerri Winningham represented Dr. Bobby Hodum, Dr. Ahmed ElSawy represented Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser, Dr. Melissa Geist represented Dr. Pat Bagley, and Dr. Kurt Eisen represented Dr. Paul Semmes. The following members were absent:

Dr. Bobby Hodum
Dr. Daniel Badoe
Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser
Dr. Brian O'Connor
Dr. Pat Bagley
Dr. John Harris
Dr. Paul Semmes
Dr. Holly Anthony
Dr. Susan Elkins
Dr. Shannon Morgan

Dr. Lee Ann Jolley Mr. Roy West

Dr. Jeff Roberts Ms. Ashley Humphrey
Dr. Martha Howard Ms. Karah Frank

Dr. Michael Phillips

#### SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approved the agenda

Approved the minutes of the October 10, 2012 meeting

Approved proposals for Web Design, English and Communications, and Digital Media Received information regarding name change for MIT and reorganization of the College of Agricultural and Human Sciences, and the School of Nursing

#### **PROCEEDINGS**

## Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Kharif MOVED approval of the agenda and Dr. Darvennes SECONDED. The agenda was APPROVED unanimously.

## Approval of the Minutes of the October 10, 2012 Meeting

Dr. Isbell MOVED approval of the minutes and Dr. Kharif SECONDED. The minutes were APPROVED unanimously.

# Approval of Proposal to Terminate the B.S. in Web Design

Dr. Kris Pickering was not able to attend the meeting, therefore, Dr. Null explained the reason for termination of the program. (See attached proposal.) The B.S. in Web Design has been a low-producing program for several years. The department plans to develop a new concentration in web design within the B.S. in Communications that will serve the needs in the digital media area. No students will be admitted to the program starting Spring 2013. Current students will be able to complete the program by Summer 2017. Dr. Null MOVED approval and Dr. Talbert SECONDED. The proposal was APPROVED unanimously.

## Approval of Proposal to Reorganize the Department of English and Communications

Dr. Null stated that discussion began in 2004 to separate English and Communications and it is now the desire of all the faculty in the department to separate the two areas into a Department of English and a Department of Communication. (See attached proposal.) Journalism and Speech would be included in the Department of Communication and would be physically housed in one building. There are sufficient faculty and staff to support both departments. Dr. Eisen MOVED approval and Dr. Darvennes SECONDED. After a brief discussion, the proposal was APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of Proposal for a New Concentration in Digital Media in the Art Department Mr. Doubet explained the proposal for the new concentration. (See attached proposal.) The student demand for this type program has been long-standing. Twelve new classes will be offered, but not all will be offered each semester. This concentration would function similar to the other concentrations in the BFA program. Dr. Smith MOVED approval and Dr. Isbell SECONDED. After a brief discussion, the proposal was APPROVED unanimously.

## Name Change for the Department of MIT

Dr. ElSawy stated that the faculty in the Department of Manufacturing and Industrial Technology wish to change the name to the Department of Manufacturing and Engineering Technology. The department has changed their accrediting agency from NAIT to ATMAE. The change also better reflects the curriculum currently taught; will increase the enrollment, marketability and streamline the 2+2 transfer with TN community colleges; attract potential employers and sponsors; and will make faculty proposals more attractive to sponsoring agencies. This item did not require approval by the Council and will be sent to TBR for approval.

#### **Such Other Matters**

Dr. Stephens stated that he would be sending a proposal to TBR to dissolve the College of Agricultural and Human Sciences and create the College of Agriculture and Human Ecology, and establish the Whitson-Hester School of Nursing as a stand-alone school. The School of

Nursing has grown tremendously in students, faculty and staff since the merge with the College in 2006. The intent in 2006 was to save money by having a Director of Nursing instead of a Dean of Nursing. However, this was not a savings. Dr. Sherry Gaines, Director of Nursing, is resigning at the end of December and this is a good time to search for a Dean of Nursing. Nursing is the only named unit on campus, the Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, and has the second newest building on campus. This change will not affect faculty tenure and no additional staff or funds are needed for this reorganization. Dr. Stephens has met with Dean Bagley and the faculty in all three schools. The change will be effective July 1, 2013.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:10pm

Carol Holley, Recorder

APPROVED April 10, 2013

Documents on file with the minutes:

Proposals for Web Design, Department of English and Communications, and Digital Media.

Name Change form for MIT