MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY April 7, 2004

The Academic Council met at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, April 7, 2004, in the Deans' Conference Room of Derryberry Hall with Jann Cupp, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Robert Niebuhr Dr. Jann Cupp Dr. Winston Walden Dr. David Larimore Ms. Rebecca Tolbert Dr. Joseph Biernacki Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser Dr. P.K. Rajan Dr. Donald Elkins Dr. Tony Baker Dr. Linda Null Mr. Nathan Wilds Ms. Casey Couch Dr. Jeff Roberts Dr. John Harris Dr. Brian O'Connor Dr. Sharon Whitney Dr. Corinne Darvennes Dr. Mark Stephens Dr. Gretta Stanger Dr. Christine Miller Mr. Ken Hunter

Dr. Susan Gore attended for Dr. Darrell Garber. Attending as resource persons were: Dr. Ray Kozub, Dr. Bob Clougherty, Elizabeth Boucher, and Denise Hensley.

The following members of the Council were absent:

Dr. Jack Armistead Dr. Ben Byler

Dr. Darrell Garber Dr. Cathy Cunningham
Dr. Susan Elkins Ms. Gail Stearman
Ms. Carie Harrington Ms. Delane Stewart
Mr. Ben Hickok Mr. Ray Jordan

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

- 1. Approved the agenda.
- 2. Approved the minutes of the February 25 meeting.
- 3. Approved proposed changes to the Plagiarism Policy
- 4. Approved annual reports from committees reporting to the Academic Council.
- 5. Elected chairperson for 2004-05.

PROCEEDINGS

Approval of Agenda

Dr. Loutzenheiser MOVED approval of the agenda, and Mrs. Tolbert SECONDED the motion. Dr. Cupp asked that item #4 be moved to item #3 as Dr. Miller may need to leave early for class. There were no objections to the change and the agenda was APPROVED with the change.

Approval of the Minutes of the February 25 Meeting

Dr. Loutzenheiser MOVED approval of the minutes of the February 25 meeting as posted on the Academic Council web site, and Dr. Baker SECONDED the motion. The minutes were APPROVED as posted.

Report from the Subcommittee to Study the Plagiarism Policy

Dr. Cupp asked Dr. Miller, Chair of the Subcommittee to Study the Plagiarism Policy, to present their report. Dr. Miller stated that the subcommittee was asked to review the time lines to file a complaint on plagiarism. A draft of the proposed changes was sent via e-mail to the Council prior to the meeting (copy attached). The proposed change states: "A formal charge of misconduct must be sent in writing to the student and to the Vice President for Student Services during the semester concerned or within five (5) calendar days after the final grades are due to the Records Office or, in a case involving a graduating senior, by 4:30 p.m. the day grades are due. Within twenty-four (24) hours after receiving the charge, the Vice President for Student Services shall notify the student of his or her options." It also states that: "Within twenty-four (24) hours after receiving a written charge of academic misconduct from the instructor, the Vice President for Student Services shall notify the student of the instructor's misconduct charge and of the student's options." After some discussion, a clause was added to the first sentence to include the Assistant Director of Records after the Vice President for Student Services (to be sent a copy of the formal charge). Dr. Harris MOVED approval and Dr. Loutzenheiser SECONDED the motion. The motion was APPROVED by a unanimous vote. It was also noted that the term "Student Services" should be "Student Affairs." This will be corrected in the Faculty Handbook also.

Annual Reports from Committees Reporting to the Academic Council

The Council reviewed each one of the committee reports, with discussion or comments relevant to each report. Dr. Miller MOVED blanket approval of all the reports collectively and Dr. Larimore SECONDED the motion. Dr. O'Connor made a motion for a formal amendment to the Faculty Research Committee report that section IV on page 3 should be section VI. Also, the appropriate persons or committee should study the ramifications of the relationship between section VI. A. & B. (the maximum amount of the award and the value per release time hour). Dr. Whitney SECONDED the motion, and the amendment was APPROVED unanimously. Dr. Loutzenheiser moved to change item #1 in the Curriculum Committee report to read "Approved campus-wide 120-hour program curriculum, except those who received official TBR waiver." Dr. Stanger SECONDED the motion, and the motion to approve all blanket reports was APPROVED by a unanimous vote.

Election of Chairperson for 2004-05

Dr. Null MOVED to elect Jeff Roberts by acclamation, and Dr. Harris SECONDED the motion. Dr. Null MOVED that nominations cease and that Dr. Roberts be declared the chair by acclamation. Dr. Roberts was ELECTED by a unanimous vote as chairperson of the Academic Council for 2004-05. Dr. Cupp thanked everyone for a wonderful two years. The Council also thanked Dr. Cupp for a good two years as chair.

Such Other Matters None

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Carol Holley Recorder