MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY

September 8, 2021

The Academic Council met at 3:35 p.m. on Wednesday, September 8, 2021 via Zoom videoconferencing technology, with Professor Kimberly Winkle, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne Dr. Christopher Reames

Dr. Joseph Slater

Dr. Jeff Roberts

Dr. Yun Ding

Dr. Jennifer Shanks

Dr. Emily Lee

Dr. Mike Gotcher

Dr. Matt Langford

Dr. Lisa Zagumny

Ms. Stephanie Adams

Dr. Darran Smith

Dr. Ann Manginglii

Dr. Darron Smith
Dr. Lee Ann Shipley
Dr. Linda Null

Dr. Troy Brachey

Ms. April Crockett

Dr. Lori Maxwell

Dr. Brian O'Connor

Dr. Robert Wilbanks

Dr. David Larimore

Dr. Melissa Comer Dr. Jennifer Meadows
Dr. Christy Killman Dr. Chris Brown

Dr. Steve Canfield Dr. Katherine Hermann-Turner

Dr. Syed Rafay Hasan Mr. Jackson Lelle

Mr. Braxton Westbrook

Others present were: Dr. Lori Bruce, Dr. Sharon Huo, Dr. Mark Stephens, Dr. Brandon Johnson, Dr. Kumar Yelamarthi, Dr. Bedelia Russell.

The following members of the council were absent:

Dr. Douglas Airhart Mr. Cannon Johnson
Dr. Mark Melichar Ms. Savannah Griffin

Dr. Russ Witcher Dr. Troy Smith

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the minutes from the April 14, 2021 Meeting

Policy 209 - Faculty Evaluation of University Administrators

Policy 210 - Appointment and Evaluation of Academic Deans

Policy 211 - Appointment and Evaluation of Chairpersons

Policy 269 - Awarding Posthumous Degrees

Policy 270 - General Graduate Admissions Requirements

Policy 272 - Graduate Studies Executive Committee

Such Other Matters

Adjournment

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Ms. Stephanie Adams SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the minutes from the April 14, 2021 Meeting

Minor spelling corrections were made to the minutes. Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Policy 209 - Faculty Evaluation of University Administrators

Dr. Sharon Huo stated all full-time faculty members are eligible and encouraged to participate in the annual evaluation of University-level positions. Additionally, all full-time faculty members are eligible and encouraged to participate in the annual evaluation of college-level or department-level administrators within their respective college or department and units. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Policy 210 - Appointment and Evaluation of Academic Deans

Dr. Sharon Huo stated upon the occurrence of a vacancy in any existing academic dean position or the creation of a new academic dean position, the Provost shall establish and convene a Dean Search Committee. The Provost will annually evaluate deans in accordance with Tennessee Tech's policies and guidelines related to employee performance evaluations. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Policy 211 - Appointment and Evaluation of Chairpersons

Dr. Sharon Huo stated A chairperson is appointed by the President and serves as a chairperson at the pleasure of the President. Each chairperson shall be evaluated annually during the spring semester of each academic year by the members of his or her academic faculty. All faculty (including lecturers, and those on one-year appointments, but not adjunct faculty or graduate assistants) whose names appear in the same budgetary unit (department/ program/school) as the Chairperson to be evaluated are eligible and encouraged to participate in this evaluation. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Policy 269 - Awarding Posthumous Degrees

Dr. Sharon Huo stated in the event of a student's death during an academic year in which it may reasonably be assumed that, but for his or her death, he/she would have completed all degree requirements, Tennessee Tech may award a degree posthumously to the student. The determination as to the likelihood that the student would have completed his or her degree requirements during the year and the decision of whether to award a degree posthumously shall be at the discretion of the President. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Policy 270 - General Graduate Admissions Requirements

Dr. Mark Stephens stated that applicants are required to meet admissions criteria established by the College of Graduate Studies. Departments and colleges may choose to define more stringent criteria and/or use a holistic approach when evaluating multiple criteria. The Dean of the College of Graduate Studies or his/her designee has final authority to interpret the terms of this policy. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Policy 272 - Graduate Studies Executive Committee

Dr. Mark Stephens stated that the Dean of the College of Graduate Studies, in collaboration with GSEC, exercises overall review and supervision of graduate programs and provides leadership in developing new programs and in improving standards for existing programs. In cases where a college wishes to change existing graduate policies, procedures, and exceptions, the Dean of that college must send a written request to the Dean of the College of Graduate Studies for submission to and approval by GSEC. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Such Other Matters

There were no such other matters

Adjournment

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Thomas Payne SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously

Meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

APPROVAL October 6, 2021

Amy McCoy, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes:

All documents presented at the meeting