MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY February 2, 2022

The Academic Council met at 3:35 p.m. on Wednesday, February 2, 2022 via Teams videoconferencing technology, with Professor Kimberly Winkle, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne Dr. Kumar Yelamarthi Dr. Jeff Roberts Dr. Jennifer Shank Dr. Lisa Zagumny Dr. Darron Smith Dr. Lee Ann Shipley Dr. Douglas Airhart Dr. Troy Brachey Dr. Lori Maxwell Dr. Sean Alley Ms. Robert Wilbanks Dr. Melissa Comer Dr. Christy Killman Dr. Stephen Canfield Dr. Syed Rafay Hasan

Others present were:

Dr. Sharon Huo Dr. Mark Stephens Dr. Bedelia Russell Dr. William Eberle Dr. Barbara Jared Ms. Jerri Winningham

The following members of the council were absent:

Dr. Mike Gotcher Dr. Ann Manginelli Ms. April Crockett Mr. Cannon Johnson Ms. Savannah Griffin Dr. Christopher Reames Prof. Drew Sisk Dr. Russell Witcher Dr. Yun Ding Dr. Emily Lee Dr. Matt Langford Ms. Stephanie Adams Dr. Troy Smith Dr. Linda Null Dr. Brian O'Connor Dr. Jennifer Meadows Dr. Chris Brown Dr. Katherine Hermann-Turner Mr. Jackson Lelle Mr. Braxton Westbrook

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda Approval of the Minutes from the November 10, 2021 Meeting Department of Computer Science, Revise Wording on Fast Track and Graduate Admissions Department of Computer Science, Change Number of Hours Allowed to Fast Track Department of Mechanical Engineering, Change GPA Requirement for the MSME Fast Track Program Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, Addition of a Post-Graduate Certificate Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, Change the DNP Concentration Name Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, Change Nursing Healthcare Leadership (formerly Executive Leadership) Admission Criteria Such Other Matters Adjournment

PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Mr. Braxton Westbrook SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the March 10, 2021 Minutes

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Douglas Airhart SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Department of Computer Science, Revise Wording on Fast Track and Graduate Admissions

Dr. William Eberle stated that the program is designed for graduates of approved undergraduate programs. This reflects the current status of fast track program and revised incorrect wording of admission requirements. After minimal discussion, Mr. Braxton Westbrook MOVED approval and Dr. Lisa Zagumny SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Department of Computer Science, Change Number of Hours Allowed to Fast Track

This agenda item has been withdrawn. No voting.

Department of Mechanical Engineering, Change GPA Requirement for the MSME Fast Track Program

Dr. William Eberle stated that to conform more closely with other units in the college, it was proposed and approved at both the department and college levels that the ME Department should require an overall GPA of 3.25 or higher for undergraduate courses taken at TTU. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Syed Hasan SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, Addition of a Post-Graduate Certificate

Dr. Barbara Jared stated that in response to these ongoing needs and an increase in inquiries for this certification, the WHSON plans to expand this concentration by proposing a new, 23 credit hour and 550 clinical contact hour Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate in the current Master of Science in Nursing program. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Mr. Jackson Lelle SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, Change the DNP Concentration Name

Dr. Barbara Jared stated that the proposed concentration title speaks to a broader range of leadership at the program, system, and aggregate levels. We expect the name change will reach a wider range of applicants and address a broader range of leadership issues in healthcare. After minimal discussion, Mr. Braxton Westbrook MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Whitson-Hester School of Nursing, Change Nursing Healthcare Leadership (formerly Executive Leadership) Admission Criteria

Dr. Barbara Jared stated the current MSN-DNP admission criteria for this concentration limits the application pool to only those who have a Master of Science in Nursing. The proposed admission criteria will make our program more competitive. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Such Other Matters

Dr. Brian O'Connor voiced a concern with Degree Works and will be further discussed with Dr. Stephens. No voting.

Adjournment

Mr. Jackson Lelle MOVED approval and Dr. Troy Brachey SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

APPROVAL March 9, 2022

Amy McCoy, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes:

All documents presented at the meeting